Good Omen

titmouse_omen

I dreamed that we were walking together on a windy day. A bird with quicksilver wings flew towards us, its sleek body reflecting the cold, clear and somehow blue light of planets. I opened my hand, and as the bird landed in my palm, quicksilver transformed into a fledgling with feathers just sprouting from quills. I turned to show you, both of us smiling.

It wasn’t until long after I awoke, still smiling, that I remembered the baby robins outside our door, the ones the snake climbed the trellis to eat.

Image Courtesy of George, Public Domain Images

Leave a Reply

