Ozymandias of the Office

Ozymandias of the Office

I scale the King’s wrinkled lip
His half-sunk sneer just fits my crooked back
Day by day, we tender the desert’s high tide
Spill upon spill
                         boundless
                                           with sand fleas

day job/ missile silo/ sacred reliquary
The mourners lost the torso and the tongue
between His kingdom and today

stone nose/bald stone eyes/kneeless stone legs
Five radioactive canopic jars
These are my desk and my desk is an altar
Spill upon spill
                         lifeless
                                      with sacrifice

I use the King’s amputated legs to thwak!
harvest-heavy trunks of traded hours
walnuts/peaches/poems

tumble        shake loose        but quiet, quiet

Colossus and I decay

Spill upon spill

                       shattered

July, 2016

Image Courtesy of Rajesh Misra

Back to the Bone Pile

2 thoughts on “Ozymandias of the Office

  1. All at once powerful and beautiful and humorous. It’s a wonder that you can combine the three, all fused and wrought (or I should say with twisted smile “all fused and rot”). It’s clear you think hard on your words. Really remarkable poem, Josephine. I love it. No doubt the wickedly fun, mischievous Crow is here again, making its appearance known with “thwak!”

    Like

    1. I do take care with the words. I joke that a poet is someone who takes three hours to write one sentence, only to delete all but the last word. I like your phrase “all fused and rot” – it’s got the spark of a poem to it!

      And good for you, to spot Crow!

      Like

Leave a Reply

